[Today’s prompt springs from the form known as the aubade. These are morning poems, about dawn and daybreak. Many aubades take the form of lovers’ morning farewells.]

Just For A Second

as i stumble out of bed, you are nowhere to be found

i had hoped that you would be waiting for me

but no, yet again it seems like i will have to be the one

to come downstairs and chase after you

my mind drifts back to the last time we met

the sensation that ran through my body 

the moment my lips touched you

and how i knew that we were meant to be

together

forever

or at least for a day

and then repeat this ritual again

why don’t you stay

why do you insist on running out

and making me pursue you once more

i stand alone in the kitchen for a few moments

thinking of nothing but you

and then suddenly something stirs

and you are there before me

looking way too hot for me to touch

and so i wait

time passes

and i feel something has cooled 

once again it is i who will have to make the first move

you give no resistance as i bring you to my lips

and once more my whole body celebrates our union

and once more just as it begins

it is finished

i look down

and you are gone

and yet i am the one feeling empty

as i ponder to myself

should i pour a second cup? 

[for the next poem in the challenge which was about money, click here]