the verse i chose in here is verse 105, but take some time on the other ones you can see in here cos there are some exquisite gems:

Image

‘Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.’

# 103 How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth.

# 104 I gain understanding from your precepts; therefore I hate every wrong path.

# 108 Accept, Lord, the willing praise of my mouth, and teach me your laws.

Seriously, just take some time on those three lines. Don’t rush through them to get to the punchline. The writer of these lines seems to really get how incredibly beautiful, powerful and important the word of God is in his life. And for his life.

Do you feel the same way? It’s okay if you don’t (as in don’t feel bad about it) cos so many people do not echo this writer’s words in terms of how they relate to the bible

But don’t be content to stay there. Don’t be satisfied at a life that involves the bible every now and then because, like paying your tv licence, “It’s the right thing to do.”

And here is the cruncher:

105 “Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light to my path.”

If you don’t love the bible or find it engaging, then start there. Let your prayer become, “God help me to love and appreciate your Word.”

Because, you know what? In my experience, that is a prayer God LOVES to answer.

And i’ve seen Him do it. Actually i’ve experienced it as well. And it changes everything.

It is important to remember that the focus must never end up on the bible – the bible points us towards Jesus and the kingdom of God. And so, as the verse says, it is a lamp for my feet [rarely showing me the end of my journey but often lighting up the next place for me to put my foot] and it is a light to my path.

So much of goodness. A prayer worth praying. An experience worth celebrating.

[For my next favourite verse, I look at Isaiah 40.27-31]

[For the growing list of all my favourite verses, click here]