i received an interesting email yesterday from someone whose email address [which may have been specifically created for this particular email] is gottaletyouknow@gmail.com

and it went something like [well exactly like cos this is a cut and paste after all, no edits] this:

‘So I decided to not use my normal email address, so that I can do some nom du pluming.

But some things need to be said. And said anonymously so that you don’t think “So he is saying it because I said that because he did that when I said this…”

So here goes: Brett-boy, you need to rethink how you spend your energy.

And here I’m speaking in particular about the humor side of your energy. To take an example: Brett, let’s be honest: your youtube videos suck. Big time. And I don’t even see the purpose in it. Will you really stand before the Jesus one day and when He asks you “So how did you spend your valuable time?” answer “Well, there are these youtube videos I made.”

Humor is good. But it must be part of the bigger mission.

You do many good things. Focus on that. You have limited time. You have limited energy. You have a (God-graciously-given) large audience. Use it well.

“I believe the first test of a truly great man is his humility. I do not mean by humility, doubt of his own powers. But really great men have a curious feeling that the greatness is not in them, but through them.” –John Ruskin’

[to read some challenging and hopefully thort-provoking responses to this email, start here]