IMG_20131220_090853

Be still and know that I am God.

i REALLY love this verse a lot. It has been one of my ‘go to’ verses for absolutely years.

When life gets crazy or confusing or hard or overwhelming (and it does!) I head back to psalm 46.10 and am reminded firstly to stop.

You can’t ‘be still’ while you are rushing around or caught up in busyness or trying to keep a bunch of people happy or are glued to technology. Just stop. And then be still. And then be reminded of two of the most cardinal rules of life:

[I] There is only one God.

[2] It is not me.

Get that one right and you just might transform your life.

What I also like to do is break the verse down. Not easy you might think, when you realize how short that part of the verse is. I encourage you to stop after each individual line and meditate on what you’ve just read. If you really want to see how effective this can be, give yourself ten or twenty minutes for the whole thing:

Be still and know, that I am God.

Be still and know that I AM.

Be still and Know.

Be still and…

Be still.

Be!

Powerful, powerful stuff, right?

I guess if you get a little too caught up in all the stopping and being still it can be tempting for this to become all about you. And so that’s when I continue reading:

Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

Suddenly there is no doubt that this is all about God.

And while the invitation has been extended to you and me to stop and be still and put our whole life focus back on to Him, it doesn’t sound like He is too concerned about whether it is going to come from us or not. His declaration is that this thing is going to be happening either way, whether we choose to be a part of it off not. I WILL be exalted. It’s going to happen. But I would definitely love it if you choose to be a part of it.

Do you have a ‘go to’ verse when times get rough? Tell us a little about it…

[For another favourite verse of mine, click here]

[For the growing list of all my favourite verses, click here]

