“Do you believe in reincarnation?” he asked me…

nick 2so i went to speak at a school yesterday and i arrive at the class as the previous class are wrapping up and eating their home-grown [well school-grown i guess] salad [good for you, young people]

this young guy comes up to me looking all mysterious and gothlike and as we’re chatting about where we’re from he asks me if i believe in reincarnation…

Tsar Nicholas II of Russia. Do you know who he was? [I nod] Well in every picture I’ve seen of him, he looks exactly like me. [Try not to look weirded out]

So you think you were him? Yes.

Then we start talking about me. “Where are you from?” he politely inquires.

“South Africa” i politely respond.

And wait for it… cue silent in-my-head drumroll, cos surely it’s coming… it must be coming… oh yes, here we go…

‘Which country in South Africa?’

Wait a second here. You are TWO PEOPLE and you don’t know South Africa is a country? You’re gonna have to go round again, son.

When I mentioned Cape Town though, he got all excited and moved in and gave me a handshake and told me how legit Cape Town is. [Must have been from that 1906 vacation cruise Nicholas took]

although, having uncle googled a picture to stick in this post, i do have to say…

