I want to start at the end of this Psalm, so we see where the writer ends up,

9 I will praise you, Lord, among the nations;
    I will sing of you among the peoples.
10 For great is your love, reaching to the heavens;
    your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
    let your glory be over all the earth.

The writer sounds excited and as if they are in a place of thriving and life to the full exhuberance… and it is important to recognise that and hold on to the image that this last part of the Psalm envokes and then maybe apply it to your life and your present circumstances as we wander through the rest of the psalm listening to some context:

1 Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me,
for in you I take refuge.
I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings
until the disaster has passed.

4 I am in the midst of lions;
    I am forced to dwell among ravenous beasts—
men whose teeth are spears and arrows,
    whose tongues are sharp swords.

6 They spread a net for my feet—
    I was bowed down in distress.
They dug a pit in my path—
    but they have fallen into it themselves.

This echoes a number of other psalms – life is not so good right now, God. It’s difficult. People and situations seem against me. But, when I am afraid I will trust in you…

Which reminds me of an old song we used to sing that still moves me deeply. In fact it is a duet we used to song at Westerford which is the High School I went to and for four years we would look forward to being in matric [grade 12] and being able to do the harmony part of ‘You are my hiding place’ which goes like this:

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You

I will trust in You
Let the weak say
I am strong
In the strength of the Lord

[I will trust in you.]

The song is credited to a number of artists but it looks like it was written by Michael Ledne, who based it on a verse in Psalm 32 [7] and Psalm 56 [3] with bits added from 2 Corinthians 12.9-10

‘The author, Michael Ledner, composed “You Are My Hiding Place” at the age of 27 when he
was going through a painful period in his life, a period of separation from his wife. He shared the
song with several friends, made a recording of it, and set it aside. Nine months later he shared the
song with a group while they were serving at a kibbutz (communal settlement) in Israel. These
friends took the song back with them to California, and after it was sung there, Michael was
contacted by Maranantha! Music who wished to record “You Are My Hiding Place.”‘

In fact, here is the Maranatha Singers giving their interpretation of his song [I did try to find a more up tempo rock version that captures the Westerford matric rendition, but alas, most of the versions are more slow and orchestrated like this one, and none of them seem to have the same duet harmony vibe, but it is nonetheless still such a powerful song so worth the listen]:

 [To return to the Intro page and be connected to any of the other Psalms i have walked through before now, click here]